David Chipperfield is Pritzker Prize winner 2023

2 min read

The Pritzker Prize is internationally regarded as the architecture profession's highest honor and will go to British architect Sir David Alan Chipperfield CH in 2023! "I am so overwhelmed to receive this extraordinary honour and to be associated with the previous recipients who have all given so much inspiration to the profession", he said.

© Photo by Tom Welsh

David Chipperfield founded the architectural firm David Chipperfield Architects in London in 1985, which was later followed by other offices in Berlin, Shanghai and Milan. In Germany, he is particularly known for the redesign of Berlin's Museum Island, to which he devoted himself with great sensitivity and sensibility.

Museo Jumex, photo courtesy of Moritz Bernoully
© Photo by Moritz Bernoully

"This commitment to an architecture of understated but transformative civic presence and the definition — even through private commissions — of the public realm, is done always with austerity, avoiding unnecessary moves and steering clear of trends and fashions, all of which is a most relevant message to our contemporary society", the jury said in explaining its decision. Tom Pritzker, chairman of the Hyatt Foundation, also says: "While his works are elegantly masterful, he measures the achievements of his designs by social and environmental welfare to enhance the quality of life for all of civilization."

Order Routebook